Leaving Canada

Well, that’s it. Its the end of an era. My last week was supposed to be a relaxing week in the beach, but Toronto didn’t want to oblige, so I had to settle for cloudy/ humid and sticky. I went to one last pub quiz which had a good ratio of 90s pop questions at my request, I went to a last Jays game – the roof was open and we won so that was good last game. The packing and clearing of the apartment was a never ending task, in fact, it didn’t end, I had to leave the apartment with stuff left in it after spending my last dying dying of an epic hangover and then leaving for the airport at 430am having spent the last hour trying to clear it out without waking up the whole building. My friend not only delivered hangover supplies in Saturday, but helped with the luggage and rubbish at 4am and took me to the airport waiting until I was all checked in.

I had drinks on Friday and it was lovely to see the people who mattered most. It really was most of the people who have been the biggest part of my time in Canada and it was such a fun night remembering silly happenings, dancing to Spice Girls and Cotton Eyed Joe, drinking far too many shots, lots of photos and laughter. There are people that I know I wont see again, people that I hope to and a few that I know I will.

I don’t know where life goes for me now. I have a lot of luggage (around 80kg) to unpack, a storage unit to unpack, a job to find and a bank to rob. It will take time to get used to how everyone at home has moved on, it will be strange, it will be good having a structure. I probably wont wear flip flops so much. I wont be able to walk to the beach or go to a silly amount of baseball games. I do look forward to getting myself back to the fit, running and healthy, with a high dose of sugar person. I cant wait to show Sparkwell and Dartmoor to Canadian visitors, I can’t wait to see parts of England where I now have friends…. and Scotland and Wales. I think I have done enough packing and unpacking, and once this lot is done, it is time to settle and just have some road trips at home.

One thought on “Leaving Canada

Leave a Reply

