More goodbyes

In the past year, goodbyes have been in abundance.  There were the goodbyes at the prison, the goodbyes at my birthday/ leaving party, goodbyes to sibling and then parents at the airport, goodbye again to Dad when he visited, to various people that I have met along the way and now another job.

Today, almost a year after last leaving the world of addictions, I have left again.  Time for a summer of seeing a bit more of Eastern Canada and living the beach life.  I didnt get to do as much as I intended last summer as ankle gate threw a bit of a spanner in the works.   

I havent really had much time to stop at work over the past week or so, and today ended up feeling a bit rushed as there was lots to do with goodbyes to clients as well as friends and colleagues. 

I had a great last day client wise with lots of people doing well, a few favourites turning up and a good atmosphere in the group. I feel like I have forgotten something though….!  

It was sad to say goodbye to friends in the office.  We laugh a lot.  Whatever goes on job wise and otherwise in life, there is always laughter and giggling.  Sharing dating dramas and comparing matches on various dating apps, listening to the Pentatonix very loudly at Christmas, hearing constant power ballads from one cubicle (yes, you made it to the blog), singing, Canadian/ English translating, storytime at the meeting table and countless trips to Tims for chilli followed almost every time by declarations of love for the Tims staff who know all of our orders without us having to ask.  I really do hope that I can stay in touch and be friends with some of them in life after the office. 

They got me a delicious goodbye cake, spectacular in fact.  Moist, fluffy, no jam, good icing to sponge ratio a what more could you want in a cake? It even said my name on it!  And who doesnt love a card with lots of nice things written by everyone in the building.


I hope I have made the right decision.  This could turn out to be the decision that ends my residency application before it begins if I dont manage to get a further four months employment in addictions before May 2017.  It could also be my last chance to have a summer of fun in Canada if I dont get residency.  It is a chance I had to take.

Summer to do list…. 

Sunbathe, Newfoundland, Montreal, Nova Scotia, PEI. 

Leave a Reply

