Serendipity, Bloomingdales, Macys, Waldorf Astoria

John Cusack and Kate Beckinsdale shared a frozen hot chocolate at Serendipity after meeting in Bloomingdales at Christmas.  I didnt meet my soul mate, but I did enjoy a spot of shopping at Bloomingdales and managed to squeeze in two trips to Serendipity.  Serendipity wasnt how I expected it to be from the outside.  It was a small entrance that you could easily walk past, if not for all the people outside.  You cant pre-book a table, so I went in and put my name down – the advantage of being on my own is at times like this where other people had to wait over an hour and I was in within 15 minutes.  It is a very small place, almost crowded, but the entrance and queues were well managed by friendly staff.  The menu was big and swirly with lots of tasty looking things on it.  I couldnt have anything other than the iconic frozen hot chocolate though.  Mint flavoured of course.  It was worth the $13 USD.  It was huge, tasty, full of unhealthy cream and sugary deliciousness with chocolate flakes on top – big enough to be a meal in itself.  Also enjoyed by Michelle Pfeiffer in One Fine Day.  The place was decorated with butterfly mirrors everywhere, Tiffany lampshades and lots of pink sparkly christmas decorations and garlands.     

 I popped in to Macys when passing – it was nice to visit but I had already done the big department store thing with Bloomingdales.  
Another place I have always wanted to visit was the Waldorf Astoria.  I intended to just check out the outside, but there was nothing stopping me strolling in for a nose around, so I went in for a little wander.  It was big, plush, fancy and I would love to stay there.  I felt a bit of a wally taking photos, but obviously continued to do so anyway.  There was one other tourist doing the same – we exchanged a brief and knowing look whilst strolling among the people who have a few hundred dollars to spare per night. 

“Serendipity. The art of finding the pleasantly unexpected by chance or sagacity.” Invented by eighteenth century wordsmith Sir Horace Walpole.

  

 

Leave a Reply

