Employment

After months of searching, I have been offered a job.  I have had 4 interviews this past week in different fields of work.  I have been ambivalent about whether I wanted a part time job or full time and whether I wanted to work in my career field of addictions or try something else.  One interview was for an addictions counselling job with a company that is worldwide.  The interview went really well and it was nice to come out feeling that I knew what I was talking about.  This is a good thing having been doing it for ten years!  It was also nice to feel the familiarity given that the last few months have been filled with newness.

I start the job next week.  I have mixed feelings about it.  I am really pleased to have a job, a job means a steady income, a routine, joining a gym and I need it for a health card and residency.  It will also help keep my brain cells alive.  The job itself will be delivering groups which is what I most enjoy.  On the other hand, I suddenly feel like there is so much I still want to do before I start work full time.  I also feel anxious that whilst Canadians seem to have an overall better quality of life and enjoyment, they only get an average of two weeks annual leave a year.  After five weeks annual leave in England, I feel a bit trapped.  Aside from this, the hours are good, the pay is what I wanted and the people I met seem friendly.  They also allowed me to have time off when Dad comes to visit which was really important to me.

I am still teaching boot camps for another couple of weeks until they finish for the winter as it is pretty dark still at 6am now.  I am also teaching some other extra classes along the way.  

4 thoughts on “Employment

  1. Congratulations! I started following your blog at the beginning of the year as I am doing something similar. I am now 3 weeks away from making the move and it’s great to look at everything you have acheived over this time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

