Brighton for the weekend

Another lovely weekend away to write about.  This time it was Brighton to see my sibling run the Brighton Marathon.  Her first one!  Very exciting.

We started off with a junk food filled road trip, me and dad and lots of Canada chat!  He either genuinely doesn’t get bored of Canada talk or is a fantastic actor! Made it to Hove and reunited with the sibling and her boyfriend for the night and a tasty Thai meal at The Green Mango.  I had an amazing Thai Red Curry and Coconut Rice with a Chicken Satay starter.  So tasty and a good size portion.  Unfortunately, no room for dessert, so full I just needed to get my pjs on – my new jeans are a slightly optimistic size 12 and are currently referred to as my spray ons!  Note to self: go to the gym!  

Saturday was a lovely day and I started the day meeting up with a guy I have been speaking to through one of the Canada IEC groups on Facebook who conveniently lives in Hove.  A little nervous, but no need to be, it went really well and it was so nice to meet someone else who is moving to Canada.  Chatted the whole time like old friends – this definately makes me feel happier knowing there is someone in Canada I know and can meet up with.  In Canada terms the 5 or 6 hour drive between where we are going is nothing.  We had our meet up in a lovely little tea shop I have been to a few times now – Treacle & Co.  Delicious cakes and a lovely atmosphere.  This time I had a large piece of chocolate cake, chocolate brownie for siblings boyfriend, carrot cake for Dad and a giant meringue for the sibling.

  

A walk along the sea front followed.  We walked all along to Millionnaires row.  I am informed that the private beach is attached to the houses of David Walliams, Adele and Zoe Ball.  No celebrities spotted, but a lovely walk in the sunshine.  We also saw a random truck with a caravan attached to the front.  Very strange but a good photo op!

  

Saturday afternoon I went off to visit a Pole Dancing clothing shop called Pole Emporium.  A start up shop mostly run online from the ladies house.  We don’t have anywhere near Plymouth to buy any nice proper pole clothes and I don’t want to buy without trying as it’s often so skimpy.  Anyway, it was perfect as I was able to try lots of things on and settled on a grey and black Wink top.  Bottoms was rather skimpy so I got matching Bad Kitty Pole Fit competition shorts.  I would definitely recommend the Pole Emporium if you are looking for some new gear.  My only concern is that I ate so much on Sunday, I may need to wait until next week and a few more gym sessions to wear it!!

Saturday night was dinner at Otello in Hove.  Spectacular food again.  I had pasta.  Mum joined us after dinner and we stayed at The Thistle on the seafront.  Unfortunately not much time to use the facilities, nice breakfast and no complaints though!

Sunday: Marathon day.  Lots of walking around and managed to see the sibling at 6 and 12 miles.  Looked over the barrier the other way and saw the winner come in which was good to see.  Sibling looked fine and dandy at 12 miles as if she had only just begun.  A mooch around the shops followed by chips and finding a position at the finish line.  Sibling looking a little less chipper 50 metres from the finish I have to say, but she had done 26 miles in fairness!! She finished at 5hrs10.   Fantastic day out and so proud!  Aching legs from walking around (didn’t dare make this complaint know to sibling!) earned me a McDonalds and a long drive with the parents home to my bed.  

  

Leave a Reply

